British Royal Navy officers came to the area to explore and map the Arctic coastline of North America. The United States Army established a meteorological and magnetic research station at Barrow in 1881.In 1888, a Presbyterian church was built by United States missionaries at Barrow.Barrow's population was 4,683 at the 2000 census and 4,212 at the 2010 census.

In 1889 a whaling supply and rescue station was built.

It is the oldest wood-frame building in Barrow and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

This street, like all the others in Utqiaġvik, has been left unpaved due to the prevalence of permafrost.

It creates problematic maintenance issues for paved streets.

As they took off again, their plane stalled and plunged into a river, killing them both.

Two memorials have been erected at the location, now called the Rogers-Post Site.

The city's official name, Utqiaġvik, refers to a place for gathering wild roots.

It is derived from the Iñupiat word The name Barrow was derived from Point Barrow, and was originally a general designation, because non-native Alaskan residents found it easier to pronounce than the Inupiat name.

The rescue station was converted for use in 1896 as the retail Cape Smythe Whaling and Trading Station.